Wiping data from a Windows device

17 May 2024

ID 228145

From Kaspersky Endpoint Security Cloud Management Console, you can send a command to remotely wipe data from a user's device that is running Windows.

This feature is available only if you activated Kaspersky Endpoint Security Cloud under a Kaspersky Endpoint Security Cloud Pro license.

Depending on the data wipe settings, you can remotely wipe some or all of the following data:

  • Documents

    Files in the standard Documents folder of the operating system, and its subfolders.

  • Cookies

    Files in which the browser saves data from the websites visited by the user (such as user authorization data).

  • Desktop

    Files in the standard Desktop folder of the operating system, and its subfolders.

  • Temporary Internet Explorer files

    Temporary files related to the operation of Internet Explorer, such as copies of web pages, images, and media files.

  • Temporary files

    Temporary files related to the operation of applications installed on the computer. For example, Microsoft Office applications create temporary files containing backup copies of documents.

  • Outlook files

    Files related to the operation of the Outlook mail client: data files (PST), offline data files (OST), offline address book files (OAB), and personal address book files (PAB).

  • User profile

    Set of files and folders that store operating system settings for the local user account.

To wipe data from a device:

  1. Open Kaspersky Endpoint Security Cloud Management Console.
  2. Select the Devices section.

    The Devices section contains a list of devices that have been added to Kaspersky Endpoint Security Cloud.

  3. Click the link with the device name.

    This opens a page containing detailed information about the device. The left part of the page shows the Commands list, which contains buttons with the commands that are available for the device.

  4. Click the Wipe data button.
  5. In the Wipe data from <Device name> window that opens, define the data wipe settings:
    1. How to wipe:
      • Completely

        Files are overwritten with random data. It is practically impossible to restore data after it is deleted.

      • Quickly

        Files are deleted by using the operating system resources, as if you delete them manually to the recycle bin, and then empty the recycle bin.

    2. What to wipe:
      • All standard folders

        All of the above-mentioned data is deleted.

      • Custom folders

        Select the specific data to be deleted.

  6. Click the Wipe button.
  7. In the Wipe data window that opens, click the Confirm button to confirm the data wipe.

The specified data is wiped from the selected device.

Did you find this article helpful?
What can we do better?
Thank you for your feedback! You're helping us improve.
Thank you for your feedback! You're helping us improve.