How to turn off System Restore in Windows

 

General articles: Windows

 
 
 

How to turn off System Restore in Windows

Back to "Windows"
2019 Mar 08 ID: 3340
 
 
 
 

The System Restore option in Windows allows users to restore the system to its previous working state should it crash or malfunction. 

However, in some cases you may be required to disable the System Restore option (for example, to delete infected files detected by a Kaspersky Lab product in the _Restore folder).  

 
 
 
 
 

How to turn off System Restore in Windows 7, 8, 8.1 and 10

 
 
 
 
 

How to turn off System Restore in Windows Vista

 
 
 
 
 

For Windows XP users

 
 
 
 
 

What to do after turning off System Restore

 
 
 
 
Was this information helpful?
Yes No
Thank you
 
 
 

 
 

How can we improve this article?

Your feedback will be used for content improvement purposes only. If you need assistance, please contact technical support.

Submit Submit

Thank you for your feedback!

Your suggestions will help improve this article.

OK